TASTE CANADA HALL OF FAME Sponsored by the Culinary Historians of Canada





2024 Taste Canada Hall of Fame Awards Call for Nominations

Deadline – June 14

The Taste Canada Hall of Fame recognizes lifetime achievement in culinary writing.

The Culinary Historians of Canada are pleased to announce that nominations are open for this year's Taste Canada Hall of Fame Awards, known in French as Le Temple de la Renommée Les Saveurs du Canada.

The Hall of Fame was created in 2009 to recognize Elizabeth Driver's massive achievement in researching and writing *Culinary Landmarks: A Bibliography of Canadian Cookbooks, 1825–1949* (University of Toronto Press). In 2010, the Hall of Fame also began to honour authors posthumously for their contribution to Canada's culinary history and almost two centuries of Canadian cookbooks. Ever since, there have been two annual Hall of Fame Awards – one to recognize current living authors and the other for authors deserving of posthumous appreciation. The Culinary Historians began their sponsorship of the Awards in 2014. To date, there are 35 culinary stars in the Taste Canada Hall of Fame (listed below).

The nomination criteria for the Hall of Fame require that the author be Canadian or resident in Canada and deserving of recognition for a landmark achievement and/or a longstanding contribution to Canadian culinary books, either a stellar book or a body of work, in any language. The Award recognizes Canada's culinary heroes who, through books, have helped to shape our distinctive food culture in a significant way or who have influenced our perspective of it, and thus have had a lasting impact on Canadian culisine.

This year's inductees will be announced at the annual Taste Canada Awards Ceremony in the autumn!

Members of the Taste Canada Hall of Fame

Note: In the list following, the first names are for authors recognized in their lifetimes. / The second names received posthumous awards. Who will you nominate?

2023

Anne Lindsay / Jean Paré (1927–2022)

2022

Micheline Mongrain-Dontigny / Savella Stechishin (1903-2002)

2021

Bonnie Stern / Noorbanu Nimji (1934-2020)

2020

Stephen Yan / Norene Gilletz (1941-2020)

2019 Naomi Duguid / Jessie Read (1905–1940)

2018

Graham Kerr / Constance Hart (1826–1898)

2017

Bunny Barss / Edna Staebler (1906-2006)

2016

Julian Armstrong / James Barber (1923–2007)

2015

Rose Murray / Nellie Lyle Pattison (1879–1953); Helen Wattie (1911–2009) and Elinor Donaldson Whyte

2014

Michel Lambert / Mona Brun (1920-2013)

2013

Elizabeth Baird / Mère Emélie Caron (1808–1888); Helen Gougeon (1924–2000)

2012

Anita Stewart (died 2020) / Catharine Parr Traill (1802–1899); Jeanne Anctil (1875–1926); Margo Oliver (1923–2010)

2011

Marie Nightingale (died 2014) / Jehane Benoît (1904–1987)

2010

Carol Ferguson (died 2018) and Margaret Fraser (died 2012) / Kate Aitken (1891–1971)

2009

Elizabeth Driver

Nomination Process

- Choose the living and/or deceased Canadian author whom you think most deserves to be inducted into the Taste Canada Hall of Fame / Le Temple de la Renommée Les Saveurs du Canada. The author(s) must be deserving of recognition for a landmark achievement and/or a long-standing contribution to Canadian culinary books. The author(s) has written a stellar book or body of work in either French, English or any language.
- 2. Write a text as short or as long as necessary to persuade the judges that your selected author should be this year's inductee. Your aim should be to champion the author, rather than present a resume. Convey to the judges, who may not be as familiar with the author as you are, how that person has shaped our distinctive food culture or influenced our perspective of it. Explain how the author's stellar culinary book or body of work has had a lasting impact on Canadian cuisine.
- 3. Email Liz Driver and Fiona Lucas by **Friday**, **June 14** with your submission text(s).
 - Liz Driver, 647-526-4877 (evenings), liz.driver@sympatico.ca
 - Fiona Lucas, 416-781-8153, fiona@culinaryhistorians.ca