Call For Submissions 2017

Call for Submissions 2017

January 25, 2017

Taste Canada—The Food Writing Awards invites all publishers and authors to submit titles to the 2017 Food Writing Awards.

The winning authors and their publishers will receive recognition through:

  • Media outreach
  • A Gala Awards event in the fall of 2017
  • An engraved crystal trophy to commemorate winning a Gold or Silver Award
  • Our website and social media channels
  • Our ongoing partnerships with Canadian media outlets, retailers, and sponsors
  • The privilege to display a Taste Canada Awards seal on the winning books and websites

The Taste Canada Awards’ mission is to be the authoritative culinary writing award in Canada by showcasing and recognizing the best.

Our vision is to promote Canadian-authored culinary writing so it is recognized as world class.

Taste Canada is managed by a core staff, including Donna Dooher as National Chair, Jennifer MacKenzie as Chair, Awards Committees, and Marie-Serge Blais and Anne Fortin as French-language Co-Chairs. The Chairs oversee and administer the volunteer coordinators’ and judges’ process during the award judging cycle.

Taste Canada Awards will honour twenty jury-selected books, five Gold and five Silver awards in English and in French, authored by Canadian citizens.

Three-person jury panels drawn from Canadian academic, publishing, creative, and institutional fields will review submissions in the five categories, both English and French. The judges’ decisions are final.

The shortlist will be announced in September, and the winners at a gala presentation and reception in the fall of 2017. The list of jury members will be announced then.

Deadline for submissions is February 22, 2017.

Submitting Books



Printable format – Call for Submissions 2017 

© Copyright Taste Canada Awards - Designed by Pexeto